What exactly does "Gain an item", eg s.616, mean?
Rules page 15 discusses items. It describes how to purchase items, restore items, etc. During awakening you can Restore 3 items (if you have them).
Is this like "Purchase an item", where it goes into your storage. Or, when you Gain an item, can you put it in an empty item slot?
BTW, what's the chance of getting an Etherfields Rules PDF with searchable text? You can't search the current version, or copy text snippets into your posts on the forums.
How embarrassing. I finally found the noted statement (Must have "read" that section 3 or 4 times), but it's too late to delete this post now.
I believe this is mentioned on pg. 15 too, "When you gain a new Item, you may place it as an active Item (if there are no empty slots, you must discard one of the active Items first)."
If you choose not to replace it active Item, I believe the new item goes to your Storage.