I assume this is the case but to check: if I have a progress card that generates intent can I use that as the sole source of intent for an action?
The rules originally only say "...influences cards from your hand and/or active items" as being used to pay intent for an action, but then do mention that "different sources can be combined" but stop short of explicitly mentioning if "other sources" can be used on their own.
Ok thanks both- makes sense :)
Yes - only talking about when the progress cards action generates intent, which is only in some cases. Also there is a cost, at least on the ones I've seen, e.g. the bomb has to be discarded, the shotgun you have to remove a charge or flip it, so they are limited in their use.
I think they are talking about specific cards, like the Specialist's gun or bomb Progress cards. For example, the Specialist has a bomb Progress card which can be discarded for 5 Red Intent (per the ability on the card). You can do that to pay entirely for an action without needing to spend any additional cards from your hand.
Once a card has been put into the Progress Card zone, the amount of intent in the upper left becomes meaningless, only the bottom ability is active.
Wait, you are saying that once you place a progress card, and that card for example generates 1 intent, you can just use that intent to do a move action for example? If so, I suspect you can only do this once per turn, right? Otherwise it's like having permanent intent there to do actions.
The rulebook says you cannot discard a placed progress card to get intent (which is different than above), but it doesn't specifically say that once you place it in the progress zone, its intent can be used.
So can you clarify this?
If I have a progress card that generates intent can I use that as the sole source of intent for an action?
> Yes! You can get the Intent you need in any way you like.
Only "Boosting your Intent" with Luck die requires you to first spend at least 1 Intent from any other source per action.
The way we have read it, progress cards are technically influence cards that you have placed, so if an action on a progress card has enough to cover an action, you don't need to discard additional cards for intent.