The rules say that you discard (and pay any costs) a card to resolve its action. As written, it seems to imply that you first discard, and then resolve. There are some cases (House in my pocket, Motivation etc) where this timing matters, as the card being played is reshuffled allong with the discard.
In a multitude of other games though, a card has to resolve before it gets discarded, and Etherfields rules encourage the player to use common practices found in other games (that is just sloppy rules writing if you ask me...)
So, what is the right way to play? Discard to resolve or resolve then discard?