I have an important question about the Awakening. We got the Awakening wisdom card after completing the tutorial dream.
Then we played through our first dream.
Now we want to play again ... BUT .... I see a potential conflict between the card and the rules.
In the set up part of the rulebook it says the we should resolve the Awakening card but start from point 4 onwards.
On the Awakening card however it says clearly that we can resolve the Awakening card ANYTIME we are as a team on a particular location. Doesn't say anything about point 4.
Now this is vital because point 2 or 3 mentions that we can cure all of our damage and unseal all of our cards ... which would be quite awesome cuz we sealed a whole bunch of them in the dream we just completed :)
Please help ...
My one idea is that we can keep going as we are (damaged and with plenty of Sealed cards) or choose to return the team marker to the Awakening spot and resolve the Awakening wisdom card in its etirety.
If that's the case it is my understanding that we keep all of the dreamworld map tiles, bought Influence cards, Dream Gate tiles etc etc, right? We simply refresh progress cards, dammage and sealed cards ...
There's no issue here. When you save the game, it tells you to do Steps 1 - 3 of the Awakening (see rules pg. 18). Then when you restore your save, it tells you to do Steps 4 and on (rules pg. 5). If you perform the Awakening outside of saving/restoring the game, then you do the entire card.
Yeah, in general, you don't get rid of your bought cards, nor the Dreamworld map tiles, nor the Dream Gate tiles, etc. even if you performed an Awakening. The Awakening is just meant as a way to reset a few things (Distress, Sealed cards, Progress cards, etc.). You can read more about the design team's thoughts here: https://www.etherfields-secrets.com/forum/main/comment/5fa925853e13000017a7430a
It's possible to play without doing Awakenings; it's how we play, but you'll have to put more thought and effort into finding ways to remove Distress and Unseal cards.