The rules mention you can pay the cost of an assault or contact action multiple times to perform it multiple times. How does that work in this case where the first assault may move the entity out of range? E.g. if I pay three intent to assault three times do I place dirt/move 1 space three times regardless of how far away from me it takes the janitor?
For multi player, how does that work? It seems the only way to take advantage of “overpaying” for it would be a single player to be able to accomplish it for all X (number of dreamers) sets required per janitor move. So with two dreamers, Player A could play 6 wrath to move the janitor/place dirt 3 times instead of 6? But wouldn’t that really be two actions for that player, meaning you can’t really overpay at all? I’m terribly confused. 😜
Also: can I use one effort to move the janitor even if his space already has a dirt on him? Or does this not work and I have to lure him away or wait till he cleans his spot?
Yeah! I was having the same convo at bgg also. The official answer didn’t satisfy me and I need more clarification. I find it that we exploit the multi resource usage rule in this case without moving in between. I find it very hard if you move in between. I think it is a poorly scripted encounter. Waiting again a full official explanation than one sentence about how this fight should work and if they need to errata it and put it in the faq.
So basically if he stands in a good spot I can hit him with a a contact of 8 Green for instance (when playing solo) and then I can move him zig zag to all eight spaces and placing dirt on each of them?
also when attacking him for instance with instant of 3 and I roll the luck die and I get additional 2 more. Do I have 5 hits (for moving him and placing dirt). Seams pretty „powerfull‘ with the hammer
Yes but as I understand it what is the point to do that since the janitor puts one dirt at the space he was before moved. What is the point to attack him more than one time? are You saying you can spend for example 6 resources and then move him 6 places leaving dirt at those spaces without you have to move in between? Seems to me a exploitation bug to the rule. As is I find very difficult with one player.
> It is just like Rejoinder writes!
I think your example is correct.
If you were performing three separate Assault/Contact actions, you would:
(1) check the range > pay for the action > apply the effect, then
(2) check the range > pay for the action > apply the effect, then
(3) check the range > pay for the action > apply the effect.
If you kept that up, you'd eventually push the Janitor out of range of your actions.
But the rules specifically say "You can multiply the effect of an Assault/Contact action by paying its cost multiple times". The example is "You perform an Assault action [...] to apply the effect of this action three times". You're not performing multiple actions- you're performing one action with multiple effects.
So (if I'm correct) you would check the range > pay for the action > apply the effect three times. It doesn't matter how far away you push the Janitor here, because the Janitor was in range when you performed the action.